Nitecore EA1 Flashlight

Last weekend I was looking for some new outdoor clothing, because bad autumn weather becomes more and more annoying. A new jacket is always a good thing to have and fresh Winter 2012/2013 season stuff is available almost everywhere! Between all those funky backpacks, softshells and rain jackets, I ended up in the knives-flashlights-small gadgets corner (like so many times before! 🙂 ). I came across some small flashlights that I haven`t recognized before: NITECORE`s Explorer Series

Checking these little fellows, I decided to do some research when I was back home again. After that I bought the EA1 version on Ebay pretty cheap (almost 1/2 price of the one in the store).

Dimensions
:

Length: 81mm
Head Diameter: 25.4mm
Tail Diameter: 19mm
Weight: 47.5g (without battery)

***

Features
:

• CREE XP-G (R5) LED
• Maximum output of up to 180 lumens
• High efficiency circuit enables maximum runtime of up to 80 hours
• 5 brightness levels
• Momentary push-on strobe and SOS modes
• Dual electronic switches ensure very easy user interface
• Secondary red light mode (0.2 lumens)
• Power indicator light also serves as battery voltage indicator (accurate to 0.1V)
• Power indicator light serves as standby indicator light when powered down
• Broad voltage circuit accepts both rechargeable and non-rechargeable Lithium batteries
• Toughened ultra-clear mineral glass with dual-side anti-reflecti ve coating
• Elaborate alloy reflector is purpose-designed for exceptionally long throw
• Constructed from aero grade aluminum alloy
• HAIII military grade hard-anodized
• Stainless steel bezel retaining ring protects core components from damage
• Detachable two-way anti-rolling clip
• Waterproof in accordance with IPX-8 (2 meters submersible)
• Tail stand function

Instructions are nice and easy to understand (click to enlarge)!

  

The light looks cool, bombproof and without any flaws (so far)!

Threading is super-solid, O-Ring works perfect!

A (typical) small lanyard, an extra O-ring and some spare stickers are part of the box contents.

Why did I chose this EA1 over the other Nitecore Explorer models?
I wanted to have something different to the ones I already own, a small torch with good power, cool looks and a single AA battery for power. It was a hard decision, because all models are rockin` and are almost equal. If you`ll ever think about getting one, I hope you`ll get to a fast decision then I did…

A size comparison to my Surefire 6P:

Another thing that I am addicted about flashlights are strobe modes. If a torch has a dope strobe option, I`ll need to have it. So what does the EA1 offer? Check my litte vid (first red LED only, then SOS mode, after that switching between different light modes from low to high (hard to see because of my crappy cam) and my beloved strobe mode at the end):

With the EA1 you`ll get a small, basic but great working pouch. It`s so tiny, that I almost started to laugh. With 2/3 of my thumb inserted, it became completely full!
Check the belt loop and the velco option for MOLLE/PALS platforms etc.:

The next two shots show the EA1 inserted in the pouch – upside down and vice versa. Both options work fine!

At the moment I am very pleased with my new flashlight. It`s so small that it fits almost everywhere and it is a good companion to have. The different light modes are good for many ordinary tasks and runtime seems ok, too!  For me A Bang 4 Da Buck!

If you are interested in these flashlights and like to know more about it, go and check Nitecore, YouTube (there are many GREAT reviews) or forums like Candelpower! 🙂

~ by geardoshit on October 15, 2012.

4 Responses to “Nitecore EA1 Flashlight”

  1. Looks like a great addition for my EDC-Kit =)

  2. Interesting. Read some not so favorable reviews in a flashaholic forum. Hope it’ll do its job for a long time. It’s aweomse what 1AA lights can do these days. What batteries do you use?

    Btw, would you be interested in some custom S.O.D. Gear Marpat pants? If so, you can send me an e-mail. (I’m based in Germany.)

Leave a Reply

 
